We’re excited to reveal the four finalists of the McIlvanney Prize 2016.


Black Widow – Chris Brookmyre
The Jump – Doug Johnstone
Val McDermid – Splinter the Silence
E. S. Thomson – Beloved Poison

Judges Lee Randall, Stewart Bain & Magnus Linklater said of the finalists:

Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre – this novel is like watching Olympic diving – just when you think the plot can’t twist again, it takes a new turn.  Even the twists have twists.  With a theme of cyber-abuse, this shows an author taking a long running series to new heights.

Splinter the Silence by Val McDermidset in a totally believable world of internet trolling, this novel features established characters but moves their relationship into a new place, suffused with longing.  Easily accessible, even to those readers who have not been introduced to earlier books in the series.

The Jump by Doug Johnstone a taut psychological thriller with a powerful and absorbing narrative which makes this work a compelling read. The reader is drawn into a family drama, suicide, murder — and a plot whose outcome remains nail-bitingly unresolved until the final pages.

Beloved Poison by E. S. Thomsonan ambitious and original novel, full of vivid historical detail about Victorian medicine, and a richly gothic atmosphere, with a large cast of wonderfully named characters, including the strong lead character.

The winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will be awarded The McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney at the opening ceremony of Bloody Scotland. His brother, Hugh McIlvanney OBE, will present the award on Friday 9th September to the winner and all four finalists will be presented with a full set of Laidlaw novels.

For full info on the longlist go here.

There is also more information available in the press release.