We’re pleased to announce the 12-strong McIlvanney Prize Scottish Crime Book of the Year longlist for 2017!


Those up for the £1,000 prize include:


Lin Anderson – None But the Dead

Chris Brookmyre – Want You Gone

Ann Cleeves – Cold Earth

Helen Fields – Perfect Remains

Val McDermid – Out of Bounds

Claire MacLeary – Cross Purpose

Denise Mina – The Long Drop

Owen Mullen – Games People Play

Ian Rankin – Rather Be the Devil

Craig Robertson – Murderabilia

Craig Russell – The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid

Jay Stringer – How to Kill Friends & Implicate People


The judges will be chaired by Director of Granite Noir, Lee Randall, comedian and crime fiction fan, Susan Calman and journalist, Craig Sisterson who between them cover three continents. The finalists will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner announced at our Opening Gala reception on Friday 8th September, which you can buy tickets to attend.