It’s that time of year again where we reveal the McIlvanney Prize longlist for Scottish Crime Book of the Year. We know that you skip all this pre-blurb to get straight to the juicy stuff so we won’t hold you back.



A Breath on Dying Embers, Denzil Meyrick (Polygon)
A Treachery of Spies, Manda Scott (Transworld)
All That’s Dead, Stuart MacBride (Harper Collins)
All the Hidden Truths, Claire Askew (Hodder)
Breakers, Doug Johnstone (Orenda)
Broken Ground, Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
Conviction, Denise Mina (Vintage)
Fallen Angel, Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
In a House of Lies, Ian Rankin (Orion)
In the Silence, M R Mackenzie (Bloodhound Books)
No Man’s Land, Neil Broadfoot (Little, Brown)
The Way of All Flesh, Ambrose Parry (Canongate) aka Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman
Thunder Bay, Douglas Skelton (Polygon)

Read more about the longlist titles here.

We also have a prize for best Scottish crime debut book this year for the first time and here’s the shortlist…


All the Hidden Truths, Claire Askew (Hodder)
Black Camp 21, Bill Jones (Polygon)
From the Shadows, G R Halliday (Vintage)
In the Silence, M R Mackenzie (Bloodhound)
The Peat Dead, Allan Martin (Thunderpoint)

Read more about the shortlist titles here.

The longlist and shortlist were chosen by an independent panel of readers and booksellers and the finalists for the McIlvanney Prize 2019 will be revealed at the beginning of September and selected by Alison Flood, books reporter for The Guardian; James Crawford, presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky; and Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster who was formerly a senior executive at Channel 4.

The debut prize will be judged by a panel from our own board including Lin Anderson, Craig Robertson, Gordon Brown and Abir Mukerjee. The debut shortlist makes up the debut panel at the festival on Saturday 21 September.

Congrats to all!