The McIlvanney Prize Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award 2017 Open for Entries


Winner to be presented at Opening Reception of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival in Stirling on Friday 8th September

Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland, is delighted to announce that the McIlvanney Prize 2017 – in memory of William McIlvanney – is open for entries. Books must have been first published in the UK between 1 August 2016 and 31 July 2017. It must be written by a writer who is born in Scotland OR domiciled in Scotland or set in Scotland.

Entries (PDFs of the book sent by email to with McIlvanney Prize Entry 2017 in the header) should be submitted by 5pm on Friday 28 April 2017.

The longlist is expected to comprise 10 books which will be announced after the organisers meeting in June 2017 at which point finished copies will be sent to each of the three judges. Longlisted titles are promoted in bookshops throughout Scotland in the period between the announcement and the presentation on 8 September.

Publishers will make every effort to ensure that any longlisted author attends the ceremony on 8 September and will be available for interview before, immediately afterwards and the following morning.

Full details here:


 Bloody Scotland is Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival, unique in that it was set up by a group of Scottish crime writers – Alex Gray, Lin Anderson, G J Brown and Craig Robertson – in 2012. This year it will take place from 8 – 10 September 2017. Full information at

Previous winners of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award are Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow in 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

The initial longlisting is handled by 50 crime fiction readers from all over Scotland and a group of booksellers overseen by an organising committee and the longlist is then handed to a high-profile team of judges to decide on the eventual winner. Last year the judges included, former editor of the Scotsman Magnus Linklater, journalist Lee Randall and award-winning librarian, Stewart Bain. The award was presented live on BBC TV to Chris Brookmyre by Hugh McIlvanney.

The prize was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in 2016 in memory of William McIlvanney, often described as the Godfather of Tartan Noir, who died in December 2015.

For further information contact or 07767 431846 @brownlee_donald