News and Announcements


22nd July, 2022

Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival first launched Pitch Perfect in 2012. The winner was Joseph Knox whose book went on to be a Sunday Times bestseller. In 2016 the…


28th June, 2022

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Scottish Crime Debut of the Year 2022. With thanks to The Glencairn Glass for their support of this year’s prizes. The…


16th June, 2022

We are very exciting to announce our 10th anniversary programme! Ten years on from the first Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival the run has extended to four days, the…

McIlvanney Prize 2022 Longlist Announced!

8th June, 2022

We are delighted to announce the longlist for the McIlvanney Prize 2022. In Bloody Scotland’s 10th Anniversary year, it seems very fitting that a clear longlist of ten books emerged…

Judges revealed for the McIlvanney Prize & The Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year Award 2022

10th May, 2022

We are delighted to announce the judges for the 2022 McIlvanney Prize & Bloody Scotland Debut Prize which will be presented at Bloody Scotland this September.

Bloody Scotland Book Club celebrates first anniversary

17th March, 2022

On Wednesday 30 March 2022, Bloody Scotland Book Club will officially be a year old! We’ll be celebrating our first anniversary with a special Book Club featuring our festival co-founder,…

The Glencairn Glass announce the winners of their inaugural short story competition

17th March, 2022

The Glencairn Glass has been celebrating Scottish crime writing talent over the past two years as headline sponsor of both the McIlvanney Prize and the Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of…

Bloody Scotland 2022: dates announced

30th September, 2021

After the resounding success of our 2021 hybrid festival, we are so excited to extend our run for next year! Bloody Scotland 2022 will now start in the historic town…

Bloody Scotland 2021: the ultimate book recommendation post

21st September, 2021

First of all, a huge thank you to everyone who organised, volunteered and attended Bloody Scotland 2021. You made the festival an incredible experience, and we are so thankful. One…

Announcing our 2021 Prize Winners Craig Russell and Robbie Morrison!

17th September, 2021

Congratulations to Robbie Morrison who won the Bloody Scotland Debut Prize for Crime Novel of the Year 2021 with Edge of the Grave! The judges said:‘A terrific debut novel, with…

Meet our Spotlighters 2021!

3rd September, 2021

It’s not Bloody Scotland without showcasing new crime writing talent in the Crime in the Spotlight slots. Before many of our events, emerging writers will have the chance to read…

McIlvanney Prize 2021 Shortlist Announced!

31st August, 2021

We are so excited to announce the five finalists from our longlist of thirteen for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021. The shortlisted five are:…