Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year

In 2019 Bloody Scotland introduced a new prize to recognise the quality in new talent blossoming within crime writing – the Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year.

Similar to the McIlvanney Prize, Scottish roots are a must, either being born in Scotland or living there, and setting their books there.

Judged by members of the Bloody Scotland board and different participants each year, the winner is awarded a cheque of £500 and a trophy sponsored by The Glencairn Glass.

2021 Shortlist

The Silent Daughter by Emma Christie (Wellbeck)

No Harm Done by Alistair Liddle (Self Published)

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison (Macmillan)

Waking the Tiger by Mark Wightman (Hobeck Books)

2021 Judges

Simon Lloyd


Janice Forsyth

BBC Radio Scotland

Kenny Tweeddale

The Glencairn Glass

2020 Winner

Hold Your Tongue by Deborah Masson

Previous Winners


Hold Your Tongue
Deborah Masson


All the Hidden Truths
Claire Askew