The Glencairn Glass invites writers to compose Scottish themed crime stories for its second short story competition

20th October, 2022

Are you a crime writer? We’ve got just the competition for you!

Last year the world’s favourite whisky glass – The Glencairn Glass – launched its first ever
crime short story competition attracting entries from talented crime writers across the globe.
The competition is being launched again this year, in partnership with the Bloody Scotland
International Crime Writing Festival and Scottish Field Magazine, with the theme; “A crime
story set in Scotland”.

Over the past three years The Glencairn Glass – produced by the Scottish family-run
glassware company Glencairn Crystal – has supported and celebrated Scottish crime writing
talent working closely with the Bloody Scotland team to sponsor their prestigious McIlvanney
and Bloody Scotland Debut crime-writing prizes. Its inaugural short story competition was
launched last year to build on this creative collaboration.

This year’s competition opens for entries on 18th October and runs until 31 st December. Both
experienced and novice crime writers are invited to submit their stories, in no more than
2000 words, around the theme: “A crime story set in Scotland”.

The first prize winner will receive £1000, the runner up will be awarded £500. Both will also
receive a set of six bespoke engraved Glencairn Glasses. The winning entry will be
published in Scottish Field Magazine in spring 2023 and both stories will be published online
at the Scottish Field website, as well as the Glencairn Glass website.

The competition judging panel will comprise Tariq Ashkanani, whose debut novel Welcome
to Cooper won this year’s Bloody Scotland Debut Award 2022, and Sharon Bairden, an
established book reviewer and author of psychological thrillers; Sins of the Father and You
Need Me. The third judge is Glencairn Crystal’s marketing director Gordon Brown, who has
written ten crime novels with his latest – ‘Any Day Now – out now. Gordon is also one of the
founding directors of the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival.

Gordon Brown commented: “The response to last year’s inaugural short-story competition
was fantastic. I’m looking forward to celebrating all of this year’s entries with a wee dram in a
Glencairn Glass.”

Last year’s inaugural competition was won by Brid Cummings, a fiction writer and
occupational therapist, based in South Australia. Her winning story – Halmeoni’s Wisdom –
was a dark tale of human trafficking, illegal trade and a desire for freedom.

Brid commented: “Winning the inaugural Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition
was a fantastic experience – not only did it provide an opportunity to build my profile and
connect with other crime writers, it also gave me the confidence to finish my psychological
suspense novel, which has recently gained 3rd prize in the Yeovil Literary Prize. I would
highly recommend this competition to anyone wishing to start a career in crime writing.”

Bloody Scotland’s Festival Director, Bob McDevitt, said: “At Bloody Scotland we are
passionate about supporting new writing and encourage aspiring writers to seize this
fabulous opportunity. A short story is a great stepping stone to writing a novel. Whatever
your background or experience we encourage you to give the Glencairn Glass short story
competition a go!”

All short story entries must be submitted at
competition with the competition closing at midnight on the Saturday 31st December 2022.
Details can also be found at The winners will be announced in
March 2023.