Great Late Summer Reading – Crime Files

13th August, 2015

It might be back to school and back to work time where you are – so ease yourself into the (gulp) autumn with some great reading from Crime Files. Our festival sponsors have a fantastic selection of novels that Bloody Scotland fans will love, check out their pages for more reading inspiration for commutes, lunch-hours and waiting outside school gates.

Peter May: Runaway

From the winner of the Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award 2014.untitled

Five dreams of fame. Five decades of fear.

A crime novel covering fifty years of friendships solidified and severed, dreams shared and shattered and passions lit and extinguished; set against the backdrop of Glasgow and London at two unique and contrasting periods of recent history.

Craig Russell: The Ghosts of Altona

Shortlisted for Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year 2015.Ghosts_Altona_MMP

Fabel is back: scarred by an experience that has changed him for ever and haunted by his past, he investigates the biggest case of his career.

Head of the Polizei Hamburg’s Murder Commission, Fabel has dealt with the dead for nearly two decades, but when a routine enquiry becomes a life-threatening – and life-changing -experience, he finds himself on much closer terms with death than ever before.

Last Resort cover

 

Quintin Jardine: Last Resort

The landmark twenty-fifth novel in Quintin Jardine’s hugely popular Bob Skinner crime series

Bob Skinned is back and LAST RESORT shows Edinburgh’s toughest cop facing a very different kind of case.

Catriona McPherson: Dandy Gilver and the Unpleasantness in the Ballroom9781444786101.jpg

1932 Glasgow is a city in the grip of dance-fever. Public ballrooms and backstreet dancehalls are thronged every night and competition for professional titles is fierce. But Dandy, and her sidekick Alec Osborne, are soon to discover that this apparently glittering world is a darker place than they’ve ever been before . . .

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery from Scottish author Catriona McPherson, perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Fergus McNeill: Cut Out

Nigel never meant for it to happen. At first, he just wanted to be Matt’s friend. But 9781444739749.jpg.jpghis fascination with his new neighbour drifts into obsession: buying the same clothes, going through his post, becoming Matt without him ever knowing. And it would have been all right, if Matt hadn’t brought the girl home.

When things spiral out of control, Detective Inspector Harland has to unravel the disturbing truth. But there’s far more to the case than meets the eye . . .

An exciting addition to the ranks of Brit detectives, this is unputdownable crime writing from Scottish-born Fergus McNeill, perfect for fans of Peter James.

Don’t forget to check out Crime Files for a great selection of crime ebooks and sign up to their newsletter for special offers.